Wilco - Summerteeth: Deluxe Edition (180g Vinyl 5LP Box Set)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $99.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Deluxe Edition 180g Vinyl 5LP Box Set Reissue featuring Original Album Newly Remastered by Bob Ludwig and Unreleased Demos, Alternates & Outtake Recordings Plus Exclusive Previously Unreleased Live-In-Store Performance!

Named 1999's best record by preeminent Chicago Tribune rock critic, NPR "Sound Opinions" co-host, and Wilco: Learning to Die book author Greg Kot, Summerteeth is an astonishing work of melodic pop, dark introspection, and lush arrangements. Presenting an entirely different side of Wilco, the album was primarily recorded by vocalist/guitarist Jeff Tweedy and guitarist/multi-instrumentalist Jay Bennett. Unabated by any constraints and assisted by chemicals, the pair delved head-first into the limitless possibilities of studio experimentation. The record's gorgeous atmospheres, soaring harmonies, finite textures, and countless arrays of sound effects masterfully balanced the deeply introspective, often disturbing lyrics.

Inspired by literature he consumed on tour, Tweedy's songwriting is more courageous, dire, and personal. Shaded with violence and addiction, the surrealist narratives of "She's a Jar" and "A Shot in the Arm" belie the beautiful arrangements, which, as the record progresses, unfold with increasingly uplifting purpose. Designed to be heard from start-to-finish, Summerteeth plays out like a fever dream, the music floating and hovering, negotiating the difficult balance between melancholy and happiness, with hope ultimately bursting through on the closing songs "Summer Teeth," "In a Future Age," and the hidden track "Candyfloss," the most exuberant piece of bubblegum pop Wilco ever composed. Largely overdubbed with Pro Tools, Summerteeth remains a sonic extravaganza. Featuring everything from alarm clocks to buzzing synthesizers to brass accents and banjo strings, songs transcend genres and resonate with majestic imagination, gentle warmth, and emotional conviction.

A fully realized work of sublime ambiguity and musical scope, Summerteeth gets a Deluxe Edition 180g vinyl 5LP box set reissue in 2020 featuring the original album newly remastered by Bob Ludwig as well as unreleased demos, alternates and outtake recordings. The set also contains a special, exclusive performance from early 1999 titled, An Unmitigated Disaster, a previously unreleased live in-store performance at Tower Records on March 11, 1999, just two days after the album was released. The 9-song set, which was broadcast on Chicago radio station WXRT-FM, highlights several tracks from Summerteeth("We're Just Friends," "How To Fight Loneliness" and "Can't Stand It"). This show is exclusive to the Deluxe Edition 5LP collection.

• Deluxe Edition 180g vinyl LP box set reissue
• Produced and compiled by Cheryl Pawelski and Jeff Tweedy with Tom Schick
• Original 1999 studio album newly remastered by Bob Ludwig
• Unreleased demos, alternates and outtake recordings
• Exclusive previously unreleased live in-store performance at Tower Records from March 11, 1999
• All tracks in this edition mastered by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering, Portland, ME, in May 2020
• Vinyl mastered by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering Studios, Hollywood, CA
• Bonus studio tracks and demos mixed by Tom Schick at The Loft, Chicago, IL
• Live at Tower Records/WXRT 3/11/99 broadcast engineered and mixed by Mike Konopka, assisted by Dan Glomski for Metro Mobile Recording, Timothy R. Powell. Engineered for WXRT by John Carey
• Original and deluxe edition art direction and design by Lawrence Azerrad
• Liner notes written by John Mulvey


5-LP Track Listing


LP One: Original Album

Side One

1.      “Can’t Stand It”

2.      “She’s A Jar”

3.      “A Shot In The Arm”

4.      “We’re Just Friends”


Side Two

1.      “I’m Always In Love”

2.      “Nothing’severgonnastandinmyway (Again)”

3.      “Pieholden Suite”

4.      “How To Fight Loneliness”


LP Two: Original Album

Side One

1.      “Via Chicago”

2.      “ELT”

3.      “My Darling”

4.      “When You Wake Up Feeling Old”


Side Two

1.      “Summer Teeth”

2.      “In A Future Age”

3.      23 Seconds Of Silence

4.      “Candyfloss”

5.      “A Shot In The Arm” (Remix)



LP Three: Outtakes/Alternates/Demos *

Side One

1.      “Tried And True” (Demo)

2.      “I’m Always In Love” (Demo)

3.      “All I Need” (Demo)

4.      “I’ll Sing It” (Demo)

5.      “Two Guitars” – Instrumental (Demo)

6.      “Candyfloss” (Demo)

7.      “In A Future Age” (Demo)


Side Two

1.      “No Hurry” (Demo)

2.      “She’s A Jar” (Demo)

3.      “Can’t Locator It” (Guitar Riff Demo)

4.      “Nothing’severgonnastandinmyway (Again)” (Demo)

5.      “Summer Teeth” (Slow Rhodes Version)

6.      “Pieholden Suite” (Alternate)


LP Four: Outtakes/Alternates/Demos *

Side One

1.      “I’m Always In Love” (Early Run Through)

2.      “My Darling” (Alternate)

3.      “Tried And True” (Alternate)

4.      “She’s A Jar” (Alternate)

5.      “Nothing’severgonnastandinmyway (Again)”

6.      “Candyfloss” (Intro)


Side Two

1.      “Every Little Thing” (Alternate)

2.      “Viking Dan” (Outtake)

3.      “We’re Just Friends/Yee Haw” (10/29/99 Minneapolis Soundcheck)

4.      “Summer Teeth” (Alternate)

5.      “In A Future Age” (Take 3)


LP Five: An Unmitigated Disaster: Tower Records/WXRT (3/11/99) *

Side One

1.      Intro

2.      “I’m Always In Love”

3.      “Via Chicago”

4.      “How To Fight Loneliness”

5.      “She’s A Jar”


Side Two

1.      “We’re Just Friends”

2.      “Can’t Stand It”

3.      “I Got You (At The End Of The Century)”

4.      “Forget The Flowers”

5.      “California Stars”


* previously unreleased